India’s Public Holidays in 2023: List of Gazetted and Restricted Holidays

Posted by Written by Melissa Cyrill Reading Time: 3 minutes

India’s public holidays in 2023 includes Gazetted and restricted days. Commercial establishments should note the schedule for the respective states where they are located.

As is the official practice, the public holiday schedule for 2023 in India is divided across three classifications: Gazetted, restricted, as well as state and union territory.

Many foreign human resource managers struggle with India’s holiday schedule. That is no surprise: the federal and state governments have acknowledged a number of holidays every month to accommodate over 1.3 billion people spread over 36 diverse states and union territories.

Although there are many ways to manage this schedule, most companies in India offer 10 to 14 public holidays depending upon the company’s past practices and industry norms, as well as the discretion of the concerned states. 

Companies doing business with state and government authorities, however, must note their respective holiday calendars. For example, in 2023, government offices in the National Capital Territory of Delhi reportedly have 18 Gazetted holidays. In addition, there are 32 days for restricted holiday (days for optional holiday). 

Overall, holidays in India are governed primarily through the following laws:

  • The Weekly Holidays Act, 1942;
  • The Industrial Employment (Standing Orders) Act, 1946;
  • The National and Festival Holidays Act, 1963;
  • The Negotiable Instruments Act 1981;
  • The Companies Act 2013; and
  • The Shops and Commercial Establishments Act.

However, among these – The National & Festival Holidays Act – is applicable to all establishments in the country, and mandates three holidays in India: Republic Day, January 26; Independence Day, August 15; and Gandhi Jayanti, October 2. Irrespective of the law that a company, industry, or organization follows, or whether they are public, private organizations, or multinational corporations, every entity in India must necessarily remain closed on these days. Organizations that need to work on those days need to take prior approval from concerned authorities.

Many businesses in India close offices on the Gazetted holidays and grant employees several optional holidays that they may select to observe a non-Gazetted holiday of their choosing. Other businesses simply mirror the holiday schedule observed by the management of their office building.

The below list of holidays are based on the Circular issued by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions.

Gazetted holidays in India for 2023


January 26, Thursday: Republic Day


March 8, Wednesday: Holi

March 30, Thursday: Ram Navami


April 4, Tuesday: Mahavir Jayanti

April 7, Friday: Good Friday

April 22, Saturday: Id-ul-Fitr


May 5, Friday: Buddha Purnima


June 29, Thursday: Id-ul-Zuha


July 29, Saturday: Muharram


August 15, Tuesday: Independence Day

August 19, Friday: Janmashtami


September 7, Thursday: Janmashtami (Vaishnava)

September 28, Thursday: Birthday of Prophet Mohammad (Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad)


October 2, Monday: Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday (Gandhi Jayanti)

October 24, Tuesday: Dussehra


November 12, Sunday: Diwali

November 27, Monday: Guru Nanak’s Birthday


December 25, Monday: Christmas Day

Non-Gazetted / restricted holidays in India for 2023


January 1, Sunday: New Year’s Day

January 14, Saturday: Makar Sankranti

January 15, Sunday: Pongal


February 5, Sunday: Hazrat Ali’s Birthday, Guru Ravidas’s Birthday

February 15, Wednesday: Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti

February 18, Saturday: Maha Shivaratri

February 19, Sunday: Shivaji Jayanti


March 7, Tueday: Holika Dahan, Dolyatra

March 22, Wednesday: Chaitra Sukladi/Gudi Padava/Ugadi/Cheti Chand


April 9, Sunday: Easter Sunday

April 14, Friday: Vaisakhi/Vishu/Meshadi

April 15, Saturday: Vaisakhadi (Bengal)/ Bahag Bihu (Assam)

April 21, Friday: Jamat-Ul-Vida


May 9, Tuesday: Guru Rabindranath’s Birthday


June 20, Tuesday: Rath Yatra


August 16, Wednesday: Parsi New Year’s Day (Nauraj)

August 20, Sunday: Vinayaka Chaturthi

August 29, Tuesday:  Onam or Thiru Onam Day

August 30, Wednesday: Raksha Bandhan


September 6, Wednesday: Janmashtami (Smarta)

September 19, Tuesday: Ganesh Chaturthi


October 21, Saturday: Dussehra – Saptami

October 22, Sunday: Dussehra – Maha Ashtami

October 23, Monday: Dussehra – Maha Navmi

October 28, Saturday: Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday


November 1, Wednesday: Karva Chouth

November 12, Sunday: Naraka Chaturdasi

November 13, Monday: Govardhan Puja

November 15, Wednesday: Bhai Dhuj

November 19, Sunday: Chhat Puja

November 24, Friday: Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom


December 24, Sunday: Christmas Eve

State and union territory holidays in India

The list of state and union territory holidays is quite large. Please click here – – to review local holidays that apply to your place of business.

Concept of ‘dry days’

In addition to office closures, governments in the state and union territories often observe “dry days” or days when the sale of alcohol is not permitted on Gazetted, state, and union territory holidays. Dry days also routinely occur on local election dates. 

During the course of the year, local governments may declare additional or fewer dry days at its discretion.

(For India’s Public Holidays in 2022, click here.)

About Us

India Briefing is produced by Dezan Shira & Associates. The firm assists foreign investors throughout Asia from offices across the world, including in Delhi and Mumbai. Readers may write to for more support on doing business in in India.

We also maintain offices or have alliance partners assisting foreign investors in Indonesia, Singapore, Vietnam, Philippines, Malaysia, Thailand, Italy, Germany, and the United States, in addition to practices in Bangladesh and Russia.