Manmohan, 19 Cabinet Members to be Sworn-In Today

Posted by Reading Time: < 1 minute

May 22 – Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and 19 cabinet ministers will be sworn into office this evening.

All 19 ministers will be given a cabinet rank, although their portfolios are yet to be determined, according to Indian Express.

Among those that will be inducted to the Cabinet are Senior Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar, A. K. Antony, P. Chidambaram, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee, former Chief Ministers S. M. Krishna, Ghulam Nabi Azad, and Veerappa Moily.

Media Adviser to Prime Minister Deepak Sandhu said in a statement that Sushilkumar Shinde, S. Jaipal Reddy, Kamal Nath, Vayalar Ravi, Meira Kumar, Murli Deora, Kapil Sibal, Ambika Soni, B. K. Handique, Anand Sharma and C P Joshi are also included in the list of ministers,

“This will be followed in the next few days by an expansion of the Council of Ministers, including cabinet ministers, ministers of state with independent charge as well as other ministers of state,” she added.